What is a Rubric versioning?

Rubric Versioning is a guided workflow that helps simplify how changes are saved when updating a rubric.

The goal of creating a new version of a rubric is to help preserve historical data that was created by previous versions of the rubric. With this guided workflow, we hope to reduce the amount of effort and worry one may have when they make a change to a rubric to then realize the downstream damages it causes a minute too late.

What is a Rubric version?

A Rubric version is a copy/clone of the rubric that retains all of the new updates that were made.

How do I trigger the Rubric Versioning workflow?

Rubric Versioning workflow automatically triggers when a change is made to a rubric. However, only notable changes will require that a new version of the rubric needs to be created.

Rubric Updates that require a new version

  • Updating the wording of sections, criteria, or options

  • Creating a new section under these types:

    • Scoring section

    • Auto-fail section

    • Bonus section

  • Deleting section, criteria, or options

  • Updating any scoring field such as:

    • Changing the point value of an option

    • Changing the weight value of sections

    • Making individual options auto-fail

    • Adding new option to a feedback field

  • Making updates to sections

    • Changing section type Ex. Changing a section from Standard to Bonus

    • Changing section settings Ex. Adding feedback required fields

Rubric updates that do not require a new version

  • Drag and drop sections, criteria, or options

  • Updating the title of the rubric

  • Create a new non-scoring sections

    • A non-scoring section is a section that only contains non-scoring criteria or is limited to only be able to have non-scoring criteria

  • Add NEW options to non-scoring criteria

  • Add NEW options to feedback fields for non-scoring criteria

  • Updating the Criteria Explanation Field

What is the Rubric Versioning Workflow?

After making any change to a rubric, you will be prompted whether or not you will want to create a new version of the rubric.

If the change made was a notable update, you will be required to create a version. If the change made was not notable, no version is required.

Creating a new rubric version will require providing a new rubric name. By default we will add "Updated" + current date as the rubric name if no custom name is provided.

Example: [QA] Rubric 3.0 Updated 01/03/2023

The final step involves deciding whether or not you want to bulk update Agent QA automations to use the new version of the rubric. To learn more about how bulk updating automations, read this article here!

After creating a new version of the rubric, the new version can be found either on the Rubric page or in the Rubric Folder the original rubric is located in.

Did this answer your question?